Ten Books That Have Stayed With Me

A few months ago, one of my friends invited me to share ten books that have stayed with me (you probably saw the Facebook movement…). I never got round to doing so at the time (sorry!!), but, better late than never, here they are 🙂

  1. Anthony Trollope’s Barchester Towers.
  2. The Bible.
  3. The Cistercian World: Monastic Writings of the Twelfth Century (trans. & ed. Pauline Matarasso). I remember sitting as a first-year undergrad in the Upper Radcliffe Camera, and being utterly absorbed by this. I think it’s where my love of studying hagiography began.
  4. C.S. Lewis’ The Great Divorce.
  5. Enid Blyton’s Five Go Adventuring Again.
  6. Oscar Wilde’s The Happy Prince and Other Tales. These are the best children’s stories / fairy-tales / short stories I’ve ever read.
  7. Rosemary Sutcliffe’s The Lantern Bearers.
  8. C.S. Lewis’ The Last Battle.
  9. John Mush’s Life of Margaret Clitherow The ideas driving my phd all started here…
  10. St Benedict’s Prayer Book (Ampleforth Abbey press).

Honorary mention should also go to my GCSE maths textbook. I have rather too vivid a memory of this. It persuaded me not to pursue a career in science. I am indebted to it.

